Carroll Middle School Earns “NoPlace4Hate” Designation

Carroll Middle School has been recognized as a “NoPlace4Hate” school by the Anti-Defamation League. This is a recognition given to a school that takes the extra steps to ensure their campus is an inclusive environment for all students.

This was Carroll Middle School’s first year to participate in the anti-defamation initiative NoPlace4Hate (NPFH).  CMS teacher, Jenna Cossu took the lead role in sponsoring this group of students.  Cossu led CMS staff and students through several activities to help build a culture of acceptance.

To receive this designation, schools must first take the NPFH pledge which includes lines about supporting a non-bullying environment and being an ally to peers. The schools then create an NPFH committee made up of students, teachers, and parents. The committee organizes three schoolwide activities and hosts them throughout the year. Schools are encouraged to be creative and unique in their mission-driven activities.

At the end of the year, schools that completed all steps receive the honor of being an NPFH site and receive a banner for display. This year marks 20 years for the NPFH program nationally and ten years here in the north Texas region. 

View full post on MySouthlakeNews

Leave a Reply